UVERworld [Bugright]

Posted On March 7, 2007

Filed under New Releases, UVERworld

Comments Dropped 12 responses

I am now an official UVERworld fan forever! Bugright was released on February 21, 2007 and reached #1 on the daily Oricon chart. UVERworld is composed of five members that go by their first names: TAKUYA∞ (yes, the infinity is part of his name), Akira, Katsuya, Nobuto, and Shintarou. The album sound splits about half-way through from a friendly rock to a softer sound, and then turns back around to a great rock sound. Honestly, there was not a single track that I disliked!

 
Here are pics of the members:
AkiraKatsuyaNobutoShintarouTAKUYA∞

My Subjective Score: 9/10


1. Zero no Kotae
There is a great deal of variety in TAKUYA∞’s singing that keeps the song from getting boring. The guitar in the background is great and I appreciate the composition all together. His voice is prominent, which should be in a song, and the music compliments fantastically.

2. SHAMROCK
An upbeat song that I bob my head along to. There are parts when he almost whispers the words and it makes the song for me completely because it fits perfect with mood. The only part I didn’t like was the strange, growling voice near the end added in, which was someone completely different from the singer. I thought it was unnecesary.

3. Home Binetsu 39 degrees C
Another catchy song. He does an amazing job making his voice engaging! I didn’t like this as much as the previous two tracks, but it is decent.

4. ~Nagare·Kuukyo·THIS WORD~
An eerie beginning that dives right into a hard rock edge. Even though Uverworld is a rock band, there are still elements of pop present in the sound of their lyrics that allow them to have a broader fan base. This song is definitely darker than others on the album, but as a regular rock listener I can appreciate it.

5. Colors of the Heart
I like the sound of his voice in this one. Colors of the Heart is a lighter track and easy to listen to. It was the third opening theme for the anime BLOOD +.

6. Live everyday as if it were the last day
There is a bit of rapping in this one that is completely bearable because it works. This song has a “pop” sound to it too. The guitar compliments well and has an original sound.

7. Charmant no Ura
A fun song! The chorus is catchy and I like the softer sound after hearing six rock songs. I want a single like this!

8. Hitori Ja Nai Kara
The song follows the mood previously, except for the rapping which made it sound harder. The piano in the background was a nice touch. I guess they’re experimenting with the rock and rap combination. It doesn’t sound half-bad! I feel a jazz basis going on here at parts.

9. Kimi no Suki na Uta
There is a lot of raw emotion in his voice that I haven’t heard until now. This is truly a beautiful rock-ballad. Possibly my favorite on the album!

10. 51%
The very beginning of this sounds like a 90s boy band! Luckily it doesn’t sound like that throughout, and 51% is another track that stays true to the overall sound of UVERworld.

11. LIFEsize
Now we have swung back around to the harder rock sound present earlier in the album. I like the guitar solo! The softness at the end was a nice little present.

12. EMPTY96
Much harder sounding overall. This is a head bobber, be warned!🙂

13. DISCORD
This is probably the hardest rock song on the whole album, but TAKUYA∞ lightens it up for you if you are not a die-hard rock fan. I do like it, however. I don’t know how UVERworld manages to make everything so darn catchy all the time.

14. Kimi no Suki na Uta (Acoustic Version)
I am a sucker for any type of acoustic version. So, yeah, this one sounds nice.

 
Track 1: Zero no Kotae
Track 2: SHAMROCK
Track 3: Home Binetsu 39C
Track 4: ~Nagare·Kuukyo·THIS WORD~
Track 5: Colors of the Heart
Track 6: Live everyday as if it were the last day
Track 7: Charmant no Ura
Track 8: Hitori Ja Nai Kara
Track 9: Kimi no Suki na Uta
Track 10: 51%
Track 11: LIFEsize
Track 12: EMPTY96
Track 13: DISCORD
Track 14: Kimi no Suki na Uta (Acoustic Version)

 

Zero no Kotae: The great wilderness! There is a lot of spinning and brightness interspersed. The video definitely expresses the energy of the song.


SHAMROCK:They’re all having a fun time splashing around at a concert. The camera angles and the motions are interesting to watch.


Colors of the Heart:The band is playing in a dark alley and it seems like they are hiding out from the cops. Then each of the members play/sing on a white platform with neon lights dashing through the background. It’s nothing too original, but I like watching TAKUYA∞.


Kimi no Suki na Uta: Another dark-like theme running through this pv. TAKUYA∞ and a girl both stand in the same phonebooth at separate times, much like he is feeling her emotions. The rest of the time the band is in an older-looking house

12 Responses to “UVERworld [Bugright]”

  1. Judy

    I have to agree… I’m extremely pleased at how BUGRIGHT sounds. I was almost worried that this would sound like Timeless (great album, but now my fav) but once again, UVERworld blows us all alway with a great bounceback. Nice job describing the songs, btw.

  2. Mako

    I just needed more UVERworld, and this Album is great, good for them, they’re stealing my heart, my mind and even my guts

  3. Eve

    was just browsing around and I stumbled across your blog >3 -hugs my buggy album-

  4. Ruho

    oo this is certainly great stuff.
    UVERworld first caught me with D-Techno Life when I was playing Taiko Drum-master. Then came Chance!, Just Melody, Colors of the Heart. And when I wanted more, soon enuf BUGRIGHT launched I’m SOOOOOOOOOOO into it now XDDDDDDDDD

  5. REiii

    A great album by UVERworld again.
    The fact that Takuya has two voices is really a talent coming from him. A really nice high pop-ish voice and a low rock-ish rap-ish voice. Though I don’t fancy rap at all, since it’s just saying out words rapidly with no real tune to them. Takuya just made me fell in love with his voice. I must say he shouldn’t have delayed the album’s launching by going to prison. It just makes the UVERcrowd anxious to get their album! Still, his voice has gotten better, and nicer. Good work Takuya =]] I’m glad he still practices his singing whilst he’s in prison.

  6. UVERkun

    TAKUYA never went to prison. lol If he went to prison, they wouldn’t have even released BUGRIGHT. He got arrested for taunting a police officer while speeding in traffic in order to get to a friend. Because of that, he decided to cut his hair to forget what he had done.

    Yeah, BUGRIGHT was RIGHT on! haha LIFEsize was a very refreshing song. All songs are good. I love them because you don’t see Rock/Pop/Rap in one band too often. They are UNIQUE. Also, about what someone said about rap just being words said with no real tune is indeed WRONG. A rap has to have rythym, and TAKUYA sounds good because he has rythym. (I’m not much of a rap fan either, but im a sucker for rapping with rock tunes behind it, hence UVERworld!) haha

    My favorite band. Can’t wait for the BUGRIGHT tour DVD. ^_^

  7. fatalblue

    Uverworld has truly become one of my favorite bands! There sound is always so uplifting and joyful even in there havier sounding tracks; I just can’t feel sad listing to anyone of there songs.

  8. amy

    i’m not japanese, i have no idea what they’re saying but i love them.

  9. 32・pooh em`

    |.XUVERworld「Bugright」#Hello music*;]ieie:)/=*.|

  10. #comment-104(avisolegal+#)

    |.XTrack 13: DISCORD-“error opening file.”13. DISCORD
    This is probably the hardest rock song on the whole album, but TAKUYA∞ lightens it up for you if you are not a die-hard rock fan. I do like it, however. I don’t know how UVERworld manages to make everything so darn catchy all the time.;]
    Track 14: Kimi no Suki na Uta (Acoustic Version)-“error opening file.”14. Kimi no Suki na Uta (Acoustic Version)
    I am a sucker for any type of acoustic version. So, yeah, this one sounds nice.;]ieie:)/=*.|

  11. #comment-104(avisolegal+#)

    |.XTrack11-error opening file.11. LIFEsize
    Now we have swung back around to the harder rock sound present earlier in the album. I like the guitar solo! The softness at the end was a nice little present.;]Track#7-error opening file.#7. Charmant no Ura
    A fun song! The chorus is catchy and I like the softer sound after hearing six rock songs. I want a single like #*,5,4,3,2,1no soundsbutplaying.;]ieie:)/=*.|

  12. Fuuka

    I love this album so much!🙂
    I like EMPTY96 most. It’s cool, u know?
    Go UVERworld! I like UVERworld and always support them!! Yeah!!! ^^V

Leave a Reply

