Leah Dizon [Softly]

Posted On February 21, 2007

Filed under Leah Dizon, New Releases

Comments Dropped one response

Leah Dizon is a popular car model in Japan who has released a few photobooks and done countless magazines. However she is not even the slightest bit Japanese nor was she born in Japan! Leah is actually from Las Vegas, which means her first language is not Japanese, so I give her some credit for taking on a singing career in a foreign language. Softly is her first single, released on February 14th, 2007 and reached #7 on the Oricon chart. I think there is a lot of room for improvement for Leah in the future as this single doesn’t really hook me and her singing doesn’t amaze me. How did it reach so far on the charts? Because of her goods looks honestly.

My Subjective Score: 4/10


1. Softy
Nothin really struck me when I first listened to this. After a second listen I still felt the same. I think that there is nothing really that makes the song stick in your head. Possibly it is because the music is very light, but because of this I don’t think her voice is strong enough to carry the song far enought to be interesting. I don’t know if she writes her own music (I could guess an educated “no”) but if she plans on succeeding something needs to occur in the creative making process.

2. Everything Anything
I did like this much better than the previous song, but it did not blow me away. I can’t say that I was interested in this either though the beat was somewhat fun. Her voice sounded strange at some parts and almost unnatural. The more I listen to it the more I dislike it because of the strange tone that pops up in some places. Maybe it could have worked with a different artist possibly…one that could actually sing. 0_o

3. Fever
This falls very flat compared to Kylie’s original version completely. I can’t really comment on the song itself as it is basically the same as the original, but Leah’s voice seems to be drowned out and whispered. She needed more strength to convince me that she could even come a little close to how the song was originally created. There is nothing really special here and I am very sad for Kylie if she ever has to listen to this.

 
Track 1. Softly
Track 2. Everything Anything
Track 3. Fever

 

Softly: Leah is at the beach near sunset looking sullen. She looks beautiful but she looks frail and sickly in a few parts! I liked the changes in scenery and costumes, but I needed more than her continously throwing her head up towards the ceiling and looking. If she wants to survive she needs to be more than just a pretty face.


Everything Anything: Leah playing around in a garden and what looks like the setting of “Softly.” It’s weird how in some shots she looks very Asian while in others she doesn’t at all. The way the filming was done in the garden made me head hurt because it was always shaking, yet near the water it was still. I wonder if she has any dancing ability besides swaying back and forth? The next video maybe? I want to see her with some backup dancers or something. And I’m not sure how the video fit with the song at all, especially with the window frame at the end.

One Response to “Leah Dizon [Softly]”

  1. mr.Potato

    she’s so beautiful
    Misa campo fan site
    http://www.weblo.com/celebrity/Model/Misa_Campo/480769/

Leave a Reply

